Illustrating rising fuel costs

by danramey1

There were quite a few papers today that ran feature stories dealing with the reasons and effects of rising gas prices.  So, I thought I’d look at a pair of those.  What was really interesting was the different takes each paper took in illustrating the story.

This first page is from the Indianapolis star.  It may be a little hard to make it out, but the story focuses on how to reduce paying too much for the gas and there’s a bunch of pennies coming out of the gas pump.  One of my favorite things about this page is the pennies, because I think it’s a clever way of illustrating paying less for gas.  I also like how there is some white for the pennies to fall into, because it gives the page a nice sense of movement and flow.  The other thing I like about the centerpiece, and it may be hard to see this, is the infobox on the left side.  It breaks down some quick ways to save some money.  I think it pairs well with the main story, and also allows a quick scan for those readers who don’t want to read the full story. 

This next front page is from the Lansing State Journal in Michigan.  This centerpiece has a different angle in that it looks at how rising gas prices are causing other prices to rise.  First off, I really like the monster gas pump illustration.  It’s a unique way to illustrate the story, and it instantly grabs my attention when I look at the page.  I’m not in love with the rest of the package, though.  It seems a little cluttered, and a little more white space and less text on the front might have helped with that.  Also, I’m not sure what’s going on at the bottom with the picture and the screen.  The text in that screen is the third category of price the story looks at.  However, there isn’t much difference between that category and the others. So, it doesn’t seem to make much sense to screen it and set it off from the rest of the story.  Also, the photo down page isn’t overly exciting (it’s just two guys standing in an RV).  The package might have been more effective if the photo wasn’t there and the package was given more space to breathe.

